Shakib Al Hasan Set for White-Ball Return in Zimbabwe T20I Series

Shakib Al Hasan Set for White-Ball Return in Zimbabwe T20I Series

Shakib Al Hasan, Bangladesh’s star all-rounder, is poised to make a return to white-ball cricket next month in the T20I series against Zimbabwe. Chief selector Gazi Ashraf Hossain revealed that Shakib is expected to arrive in Dhaka at the end of April and could feature in a couple of Dhaka Premier League (DPL) matches before joining the national team.

“We have communicated with him,” Ashraf said. “He is expected to arrive in Dhaka at the end of this month. He will possibly play one or two DPL matches. Afterwards, he will get involved with the team management. There he can do his training on cricketing skill as per the desire of team management. We will definitely want him to play a couple of matches in the series.”

Shakib has been on a break from white-ball cricket since the 2023 ODI World Cup due to an eye condition and a finger injury. He returned to international cricket in the Chattogram Test against Sri Lanka earlier this month.

Bangladesh have announced a 17-man preparatory squad that will train for three days in Chattogram from April 26. The group doesn’t include Shakib or Mustafizur Rahman, who is playing for Chennai Super Kings in the IPL until May 1. Ashraf said that Mustafizur would also miss the first T20I against Zimbabwe on May 3 in Chattogram.

The training squad includes Mohammad Saifuddin, who returns after a long injury layoff. He last played for Bangladesh shortly before the 2022 T20 World Cup and returned to action in this season’s BPL, where he was part of Fortune Barishal’s title-winning squad.

“Definitely (Mohammad) Saifuddin is a promising player and if he is not injured he could have more international experience,” Ashraf said. “He is ahead with his batting but in bowling he has competitors. So it’s a good opportunity for him to get back into his groove in the Zimbabwe series because we have a lot of interest in him.”

Bangladesh play the first three T20Is against Zimbabwe in Chattogram on May 3, 5, and 7, and the last two T20Is in Dhaka on May 10 and 12.

Abahani Extends DPL Dominance, Secures Super League Berth

Abahani Extends DPL Dominance, Secures Super League Berth

Abahani Limited’s dominance in the Dhaka Premier League (DPL) continues unabated as they extended their winning streak to 11 matches, crushing Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club to secure their place in the Super League phase. With just three wins separating them from their 22nd DPL title, Abahani’s supremacy remains unchallenged.

In the highly anticipated clash between the league’s two wealthiest teams, Abahani’s bowlers wreaked havoc, dismissing Sheikh Jamal for a paltry 88 runs, their lowest-ever score in the DPL. The meager target was chased down effortlessly by Abahani in just 10.2 overs without losing a wicket.

Shinepukur Cricket Club emerged as the second-placed team with eight wins, edging out Mohammedan Sporting Club and Sheikh Jamal on net run-rate. They secured their Super League berth with victories over Gazi Group Cricketers, Mohammedan, and Legends of Rupganj. Notably, this is Shinepukur’s first appearance in the Super League phase.

Irfan Sukkur and Habibur Rahman Sohan emerged as the standout batters, guiding their respective teams, Shinepukur and Gazi Group, into the Super League. Irfan’s unbeaten 106 against Rupganj and 84 against Gazi Group proved crucial, while Sohan’s 55-ball 81 against Brothers Union and unbeaten 102 against City Club sealed Gazi Group’s Super League spot.

Parvez Hossain Emon topped the batting charts with 585 runs at an average of 53.18, including three centuries. Mohammad Naim, Mahidul Islam Ankon, Saif Hassan, and Tamim Iqbal also featured among the top-five scorers.

On the bowling front, quick bowler Nahid Rana impressed with 12 wickets this week, including a five-wicket haul against Mohammedan and a four-for against Gazi Group. Left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed also claimed a five-for.

Left-arm quicks dominated the DPL’s first phase, with Gazi Group’s Ruyel Miah emerging as the leading wicket-taker with 25 wickets at an average of 14.76. Abu Hider and Maruf Mridha, both left-arm fast bowlers, ranked among the top four, while Ifran Hossain, a right-arm quick, finished sixth. Rishad Hossain, the legspinner, and left-arm spinner Nazmul Islam completed the top five.

Abahani’s dominance was evident in their high-scoring encounter against Prime Bank Cricket Club, where they amassed 341 for 4. Anamul Haque and captain Najmul Hossain Shanto struck centuries, while Towhid Hridoy contributed an unbeaten 65. Prime Bank’s response of 283 fell short, with Taskin Ahmed and Tanjim Hasan Sakib claiming three wickets each.

In the relegation battle, Gazi Tyres Cricket Academy, City Club, and Rupganj Tigers will face off in the playoffs. Partex Sporting Club avoided relegation due to a superior net run-rate compared to Rupganj.

Among the young players who made their DPL debuts this season, Maruf Mridha stood out with 19 wickets for Gazi Tyres Cricket Academy. 16-year-old Nuhayel Sandeed became the first left-arm wristspinner to play List-A cricket in Bangladesh, taking two wickets on debut against Prime Bank, coached by his father Mohammad Salahuddin.

Abahani Dominates DPL, Veterans Shine, Youngsters Impress

Abahani Dominates DPL, Veterans Shine, Youngsters Impress

The Dhaka Premier League (DPL) is witnessing a thrilling season as Abahani Limited continues its winning streak, while other teams vie for supremacy.

Abahani has emerged as the frontrunner, securing six consecutive victories. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club, Legends of Rupganj, and Mohammedan Sporting Club trail closely with 10 points each, separated only by net run rate.

Veteran players have stepped up their game, with Shakib Al Hasan contributing a fifty and three wickets for Sheikh Jamal. Tamim Iqbal has impressed with three consecutive fifties for Prime Bank Cricket Club. Mashrafe Mortaza surprised with a five-wicket haul in List-A cricket, his eighth such feat.

Parvez Hossain Emon leads the batting charts with three centuries, followed by Mohammedan’s Mahidul Islam Ankon. Ankon has also scored three fifties, while Tamim and Emon have each added a century to their tally. Towhid Hridoy’s unbeaten 125 for Abahani against Rupganj Tigers was a standout performance.

Maruf Mridha, a young left-arm quick, has emerged as the leading wicket-taker with 16 scalps. Mashrafe’s five-wicket haul and Tanvir Islam’s six-wicket haul for Abahani against Brothers Union are other notable bowling performances.

Mohammedan’s one-wicket victory over Prime Bank could prove crucial in the title race. Prime Bank’s openers Emon and Tamim, along with Sabbir Rahman, set a strong foundation with a 218-run partnership. However, Mohammedan’s Abu Hider guided his team to victory with a 36-ball 54.

Abahani remains the dominant force, but Mohammedan and Sheikh Jamal pose significant challenges. Rupganj Tigers and City Club remain winless, while Partex Sporting Club, Gazi Tyres, and Brothers Union have secured their first victories.

Players to watch include allrounder Ariful Islam, left-arm spinner Mahfuzur Rahman Rabby, and Maruf Mridha. Emon’s consistency and Ankon’s steady rise are also noteworthy.

Back to Top

Search For Products

Product has been added to your cart