Manish Sureshkumar Stuns Second Seed in ITF Men's Tennis Tournament

Manish Sureshkumar Stuns Second Seed in ITF Men’s Tennis Tournament

Manish Sureshkumar, ranked 877th in the world, displayed remarkable resilience and determination to overcome the challenge of second seed Khumoyun Sultanov of Uzbekistan in the first round of the $25,000 ITF men’s tennis tournament in New Delhi.

Sultanov, ranked 329th, appeared to be in control of the match, serving for victory at 6-4, 5-4. However, Sureshkumar refused to surrender, winning the next three games to level the set at 5-5. The Indian then held his serve in the 11th game, capitalizing on his fifth game point to force a tiebreaker.

In the tiebreaker, Sureshkumar’s aggressive play proved too much for Sultanov. The Indian fired 11 aces throughout the match and converted six of seven break points, ultimately securing a hard-fought 4-6, 7-5, 6-4 victory.

In another upset, Karan Singh stunned fourth seed S. Mukund 7-6(4), 6-1. Singh showcased his firepower, hitting nine aces and converting three of four break points. After failing to serve out the first set in the tenth game, Singh regrouped and won six consecutive points in the tiebreaker to take the set. He then broke Mukund’s serve twice in the second set to seal the victory.

The tournament also witnessed several exciting doubles matches. Chirag Duhan and Yuichiro Inui of Japan defeated Oges Theyjo and Suraj Prabodh 6-4, 6-7(5), [10-2]. Kazuma Kawachi of Japan and Woobin Shin of Korea cruised past Raghav Jaisinghani and Aditya Balsekar 6-2, 6-0. Nitin Kumar Sinha and Siddharth Vishwakarma beat Parth Aggarwal and Yunseok Jang of Korea 6-2, 6-3. Kabir Hans and Faisal Qamar overcame Thanapet Chanta of Thailand and Rishi Reddy 7-6(9), 6-3. Wishaya Trongcharoenchaikul of Thailand and Bang Shuo Yin of Taipei defeated Udit Kamboj and Maan Kesharwani 6-1, 7-5.

Korean Stars Shine in Maha Urja ITF Women's Tennis Tournament

Korean Stars Shine in Maha Urja ITF Women’s Tennis Tournament

Korean tennis star Dayeon Back continued her impressive run at the Maha Urja $25,000 ITF women’s tennis tournament in Pune, India, by defeating fifth seed Sahaja Yamalapalli in straight sets in the quarterfinals. Back’s 6-4, 6-1 victory sets up a semifinal clash with second seed Dalila Jakupovic, who overcame a slow start to beat Miriana Tona of Italy in three sets.

Another Korean player, Yeonwoo Ku, also advanced to the semifinals with a dominant 6-1, 6-0 win over Ekaterina Yashina. Ku will face Daria Kudashova in the semifinals.

In doubles action, Ku and Justina Mikulskyte upset the Indian pair of Shrivalli Bhamidipaty and Vaidehi Chaudhari in a thrilling super tie-break. The Korean-Lithuanian duo won 6-1, 2-6, [10-8] to reach the semifinals.

Sahaja Yamalapalli Leads Indian Charge at Maha Urja ITF Women's Tennis Tournament

Sahaja Yamalapalli Leads Indian Charge at Maha Urja ITF Women’s Tennis Tournament

The Maha Urja $25,000 ITF women’s tennis tournament, set to commence on Tuesday at the MSLTA Academy in Ramnagar, will witness the participation of Sahaja Yamalapalli as the sole Indian seed. Ranked fifth, Yamalapalli will face Vaidehi Chaudhari in her opening match. She is placed in the third quarter alongside fourth seed Diana Marcinkevica.

In the absence of India’s top player Ankita Raina, who is competing in the Petroleum tennis tournament in Delhi, the Indian challenge will be led by national champion Shrivalli Bhamidipaty. Bhamidipaty will begin her campaign against qualifier Anastasia Zolotareva. Zeel Desai will take on Akiko Omae of Japan in her first-round match.

Akanksha Nitture displayed remarkable resilience in the qualifying rounds, saving six match points in the super tie-break to defeat Joel Nichole 14-12. Her reward is a first-round encounter with top seed Irina Maria Bara of Romania.

Other Indian players who have qualified for the main draw include Anjali Rathi, Vaishnavi Adkar, Humera Baharmus, and Soha Sadiq. Wild cards have been awarded to Sowjanya Bavisetti, Maithili Mothe, Sonall Patil, and Sejal Bhutada.

The tournament will provide a stern test for the Indian players, who will face a strong contingent of foreign competitors. The seedings for the tournament are as follows:

1. Irina Maria Bara (Rou)
2. Dalila Jakupovic (Slo)
3. Justina Mikulskyte (Ltu)
4. Diana Marcinkevica (Lat)
5. Sahaja Yamalapalli
6. Fanny Ostlund (Swe)
7. Miriana Tona (Ita)
8. Thasaporn Naklo (Tha)

Back to Top

Search For Products

Product has been added to your cart