2024 Women's Asia Cup Expands to Eight Teams, Set for July in Sri Lanka

2024 Women’s Asia Cup Expands to Eight Teams, Set for July in Sri Lanka

The 2024 Women’s Asia Cup, scheduled from July 19 to 28 in Dambulla, Sri Lanka, promises to be an exciting spectacle in the T20 format. The tournament has expanded to eight teams, including hosts Sri Lanka, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, UAE, Nepal, Thailand, and Malaysia.

Unlike the previous edition, the teams will be divided into two groups. Group A comprises India, Pakistan, UAE, and Nepal, while Group B features Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Thailand, and Malaysia. The top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals on July 26, followed by the title clash on July 28.

The tournament will serve as a crucial warm-up for teams ahead of the T20 World Cup in Bangladesh in September. India, the defending champions and most successful team with seven titles, will be eager to retain their crown.

The Asia Cup will also showcase the growing talent pool in women’s cricket in Asia. The inclusion of female umpires, as in the previous edition, is a testament to the ACC’s commitment to promoting women in the sport.

The tournament schedule is as follows:

* July 19: Pakistan vs Nepal, India vs UAE
* July 20: Malaysia vs Thailand, Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh
* July 21: Nepal vs UAE, India vs Pakistan
* July 22: Sri Lanka vs Malaysia, Bangladesh vs Thailand
* July 23: Pakistan vs UAE, India vs Nepal
* July 24: Bangladesh vs Malaysia, Sri Lanka vs Thailand
* July 26: Semi-finals
* July 28: Final

The Asia Cup will provide a platform for players to showcase their skills and compete against the best in Asia. It will also be an opportunity for fans to witness the growth and development of women’s cricket in the region.